March 27, 2021, 9am - 3pm

A Partnership with WRITER'S ATELIER

 This is a virtual GoToWebinar event. Register to receive links to each event in the Schedule portion of this site. To purchase books from authors, view the “Books” portion of this site.

Author panels

Literary Activism: What, Why, How;

Curating an Inclusive Collection;

Genres: Common Themes, Common Restrictions;

Poetry: Well-Versed in All Backgrounds

Keynote Speaker

Pamela N Harris
Author of When You Look Like Us

A.M. Bochnak
plus

A.M. Bochnak

Brandon Goode
plus

Brandon Goode

Elle Ire
plus

Elle Ire

Jessica Darden
plus

Jessica Darden

Jose Pablo Iriarte
plus

Jose Pablo Iriarte

Lana Issam Ghannam
plus

Lana Issam Ghannam

Laura Perez
plus

Laura Perez

Lisa Blue
plus

Lisa Blue

Nicole Heintzelman
plus

Nicole Heintzelman

Pamela N. Harris
plus

Pamela N. Harris

Racquel Henry
plus

Racquel Henry

Robin Gow
plus

Robin Gow

Sarah Nicolas
plus

Sarah Nicolas

Shamim Sarif
plus

Shamim Sarif

Sohrab Homi Fracis
plus

Sohrab Homi Fracis

Tamara J. Madison
plus

Tamara J. Madison

Toya Rochelle
plus

Toya Rochelle

Weekend Reader
plus

Weekend Reader

SCHEDULE

Sed condimentum tempus auctor. Etiam euismod dapibus eu congue.

Keynote address

Pamela Harris, author of When You Look Like Us, a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

To begin the session, register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6153953800173366797  

30min

GoToWebinar

Pamela N. Harris

Pamela N. Harris was born and somewhat raised in Newport News, VA—also affectionately known as “Bad News.” A former school counselor by day, she received her BA in English and a Master’s in school counseling at Old Dominion University, her MFA in creative writing at Fairleigh Dickinson University, and a PhD in counselor education and […]

http://www.pamharriswrites.com

Literary Activism: What, Why, How

How do we take diversity from discussion to activism? What does it mean to "own voices"? Why is representation important?

Featuring panelists Sohrab Francis, Brandon Goode, Sarah Nicolas, and LE Perez

To begin this event, register at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3631975392241306381

45min

GoToWebinar

Sohrab Homi Fracis

Sohrab Homi Fracis is the first Asian American author to win the Iowa Short Fiction Award, described by the New York Times Book Review as “among the most prestigious literary prizes America offers,” for his first book Ticket to Minto: Stories of India and America. His novel Go Home was shortlisted by Stanford University Libraries […]

http://www.fracis.com/
Brandon Goode

Growing up in the small beach town of Melbourne, Florida, Brandon Goode always had a passion for writing. His debut novel, The Secrets of Eden, was recognized by Barnes & Noble Teen as a recommended reading, and his sophomore book, Unorthodox Remedies, debuted as an Amazon #1 New Release! He loves traveling, eating sushi, and […]

Sarah Nicolas

Sarah Nicolas is a recovering mechanical engineer, library event planner, and author. Sarah writes YA novels as Sarah Nicolas and romance under the name Aria Kane. Sarah has published both traditionally and independently, and has also worked in the publishing industry as an editorial intern, editorial assistant, publicist, publicity director, cover artist, and art director. […]

http://www.sarahnicolas.com
Laura Perez

Laura E Perez publishes under her pseudonym LE Perez and is an Author/Publisher at Palmas Publishing. She loves to “people watch” and write what she knows. She spent fifteen years working in Corrections & Victim Services and is a 4th Degree Black Belt who loves writing fight scenes. She has three full-length novels under her […]

http://www.lperez.com

Genres: Common Themes, Common Restrictions

A discussion of women in science fiction/fantasy, marginalized communities in genres, romance needing more diverse characters overall.

Featuring panelists A.M. Bochnak, Jose Pablo Iriarte, Elle Ire, and Shamim Sarif.

To begin this event, register at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3927212955996872205

45min

GoToWebinar

Shamim Sarif

Shamim Sarif is an award-winning Canadian and British novelist, screenwriter and director, and an advocate for the rights of women and the LGBTQ+ community.  Her latest book, The Athena Protocol, is a feminist thriller from HarperCollins. The sequel, The Shadow Mission, was released in October 2020. She is developing the TV show with Village Roadshow and Gran Via (Breaking Bad).  Shamim’s work focuses on themes including […]

https://www.shamimsarif.com/
Jose Pablo Iriarte

José Pablo Iriarte is a Cuban-American writer and teacher who lives in Central Florida. José’s fiction can be found in magazines such as Lightspeed, Strange Horizons, Fireside Fiction, and others, and has been featured in best-of lists compiled by Tangent Online, Featured Futures, iO9, and Quick Sip Reviews, and on the SFWA Nebula Award Recommended […]

http://www.labyrinthrat.com
A.M. Bochnak

A.M. Bochnak is an award-winning author for her debut novel Fortitude Rising: Volume One of the Magical Bond Series. She is a dreamer, always looking beyond reality for her next adventure. With her head in the clouds or her eyes turned to the stars, she spends countless hours imagining new adventures and far off worlds […]

http://www.ambochnak.com
Elle Ire

Elle E. Ire resides in Celebration, Florida, where she writes science fiction and urban fantasy novels featuring kickass women who fall in love with each other. She has won many local and national writing competitions, including the Royal Palm Literary Award, the Pyr and Dragons essay contest judged by the editors at Pyr Publishing, the […]

http://www.elleire.com

Curating an Inclusive Collection

How do bloggers and librarians curate books so they're being inclusive? Does this make a difference to encourage inclusive reading in others? What are some favorite reads/recommendations by writers from marginalized communities?

Featuring panelists Jessica Darden, Weekend Reader, Lisa Blue and Nicole Heintzelman

To begin this event, register at:  https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4405661042777114125

45 min

GoToWebinar

Nicole Heintzelman
Jessica Darden

Hey, I’m Jessica. As an enthusiastic Book Lover, I’m excited to share books that I’ve learned from and currently reading, especially, books that are written by BIPOC authors (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color). As a Latina woman, I want to see myself in the stories I read. It’s more important than ever to read […]

Lisa Blue

Lisa serves as Winter Park Public Library’s Teen Librarian. For the past fourteen years, she has endeavored to build a YA print collection that is inclusive and populated with texts characterized as #OwnVoices. She also strongly advocates for and practices the involvement of teens in the planning and implementation of services and materials for their […]

Weekend Reader

Weekend Reader, Lynell Hodge, is a book blogger and bookstagrammer who enjoys sharing recommendations with busy readers. She reads and reviews contemporary fiction specifically romance but enjoys reading diversely. Additionally, Weekend Reader is committed to supporting indie authors and authors of color in her recommendations. https://weekend-reader.blogspot.com

https://weekend-reader.blogspot.com

Poetry: Well-Versed in All Backgrounds

Why do we need to hear from poets from different backgrounds? How important is poetry in general? How do the poets do their part in terms of what they are writing and reading?

Featuring panelists Lana Issam Ghannam, Tamara J. Madison, Toya Rochelle, and Robin Gow

To begin this event, register at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5098421537996934925

45min

GoToWebinar

Robin Gow

Robin Gow is a trans and queer poet and Young Adult author from rural Pennsylvania. They are the author of Our Lady of Perpetual Degeneracy (Tolsun Books 2020) and the chapbook Honeysuckle (Finishing Line Press 2019). Gow’s first YA novel is forthcoming Winter 2022 with FSG Books for Young Readers. Their work has recently been […]

https://frobingowpoetry.wordpress.com/
Tamara J. Madison

Tamara J. Madison is an author, poet, editor, and instructor. Her critical and creative works have been recorded, produced, and published in various journals, magazines, exhibits, podcasts, and anthologies.  Her most recent poetry collection Threed, This Road Not Damascus was published by Trio House Press (May 2019). Tamara has performed and recorded her work for […]

Toya Rochelle

Toya Rochelle, is an author, activist, philanthropist, and entrepreneur. Her work is both biting critique and contemplative observations. She aims to foster balanced discourse and transformative understanding through her work. Toya frequently leads workshops, moderates panels, and keynotes at conferences. Born and raised in the Virgin Islands, she currently lives in Florida with her family. […]

https://toyarochelle.com/
Lana Issam Ghannam

Lana Issam Ghannam is a first-generation Palestinian-American poet. Her collection, Evolution of Stone, won the 2020 Swan Scythe Press Chapbook Contest and is forthcoming in Summer 2021. Her poetry has been nominated for the Orison Anthology Award in Poetry (2016), was a finalist for the New Letters Prize in Poetry (2015), and a finalist for the […]

BOOKS BY AUTHORS

Fortitude Rising by A.M. Bochnak
Aftermath of Defiance by A.M. Bochnak
In the Wake of Rebellion by A.M. Bochnak
Embodiment of Magic
Go Home
Ticket to Minto
Threadbare by Elle E. Ire
Vicious Circle by Elle E. Ire
The Secrets of Eden by Brandon Goode
Two Tongues
Unorthodox Remedies
When You Look Like Us
Once Upon a Darkness by Aria Kane
Sibilance by Aria Kane
Dragons Are People Too by Sarah Nicolas
Threed, This Road Not Damascus

About the Festival

The Winter Park Book Festival is Saturday, March 27, 2021, from 9am – 3pm. It seeks to:

– promote Winter Park Public Library as an arts and cultural destination
– attract and recognize authors, publishers, and readers from around Florida
– highlight the importance of reading and literacy throughout the community
– recognize Winter Park authors

The festival will feature a diverse group of contemporary Florida authors in conversations, panels, and presentations. Please read the following information before submitting a book to the Festival.

Book Festival Planning Team

Authors are invited to sell their own books using their own resources (square, etc.).

Winter Park Public Library

460 E. New England Avenue
Winter Park, FL 32789
4078-623-3300